Regional Council

A committee meets in an office with a frosted glass wall.

A regional council of governments, Pima Association of Governments also serves as the Federal Highway Administration’s required and state-designated metropolitan planning organization and as the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s designated lead agency for regional air quality, water quality and solid waste planning for the Tucson metropolitan area.

Chief elected officials of local, state and tribal governments serve on the PAG Regional Council. The nine leaders work collaboratively to represent the greater Tucson region in their decisions regarding transportation planning, air quality, water quality and economic vitality.

The governing body meets five times annually to develop, adopt and/or endorse policies, plans, reports and other submittals. Each member has one vote to ensure decisions are made with a regional commitment to approve plans and policies that drive economic growth across the region.

2024 Regional Council


Supervisor Rex Scott

PAG Chair:
Vice Chair Rex Scott
(Pima County)

Mayor Paul Diaz

PAG Vice Chair:
Mayor Paul Diaz
(South Tucson)

Mayor Ed Honea

PAG Treasurer:
Mayor Ed Honea


Chairman Verlon Jose

Tohono O’odham Nation Chairman Verlon Jose

Chairman Peter Yucupicio

Pascua Yaqui Tribe
Chairman Peter Yucupicio

Mayor Regina Romero

Tucson Mayor Regina Romero

Mayor Joe Winfield

Oro Valley Mayor Joe Winfield

Mayor Tom Murphy

Sahuarita Mayor Tom Murphy

Board Member Ted Maxwell

Arizona State Transportation Board Member Ted Maxwell